Jan 10th '12 Pop goes the Weasel (or Stoat)

Published on by jodysnaturewalks

Let me firstly wish you a Happy New Year to you all, and I would like to dedicate this blog to my late Nan whose birthday it would have been today.

 

The sun was shining and the temperature mild, we could almost be fooled into thinking that it was spring.

 

I saw quite a number of Robins today, on various routes of my walk. I saw 3 Swans fly over, which I don't see very often. I chose to return my walk along the old railway line which I approached via the canal via Clayhanger. I took it slow and took all the sights and scents of the vegetation. I was aiming to photograph  Long Tailed Tits as these little birds fascinate me as the fly past, talmenting me to catch them, they are to flighty to say the least. Just as you aim and shoot they take flight. I  was lucky to get a shot, but its not great.

 

Approaching the bridge the back of One stop depot, where the horses are fed I sat and stopped to watch the Fieldfare, and their were several Robins here also. I looked down and saw  a red furry head scurrying through the leaves, I first thought it can't be a Red Squirrel as we don't have them around here, then a long red body followed. It had a sniff round then rushed under the bushes. Wow.DSCN7715.JPG

I didn't get to see its tail properly so I can not say if it was a Weasel or a Stoat,. The tail of the Stoat as a black tip, which can be distinguished from the Weasel as they have a shorter tail with no black tip. It was amazing as I wasn't exspecting to see that, it was a case of the right place, right time.

 

Walking past he Lake, the usual suspects were out and about. Not you Ray if you are reading this. I hope Zeth kept up with you during the rest of your walk.(Nice to put a face to the name)

Gooseanders, Wigeon, Tufted Ducks, Gulls of several varieties, Grebes and Coots were all cleary visible.

 

The wind started to pick up and the clouds were moving fast making lovely formations through the last of the suns rays. What a lovely end to the walk.

 

Theres nothing better to warm the heart, than a bowl of homemade fresh soup......   Till next time x

Published on nature

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post