1st November '11 I saw the Rutting...

Published on by jodysnaturewalks

While the weather is still fine I shall remain walking the areas I like in the mornings, and it is a good job that I did this today has I would of missed a spectacular rarity.

 It was pretty quiet over the Mere and the fields leading up to Grange Farm, and the Copse to, then it happened. I always look in the field next to the Copse and between the Seven Trent  as I often see the deer in there, but today I was met with three stags in the open field rutting. One deer watched as the two others clashed antlers.

As is the norm I carry my camera everywhere, apart from the day I went to meet David Tennant and forgot it - but thats another story, so I grabbed it out  the case and started to video, why on this usually quite lane did hundreds of cars go past so I can't hear the deer bellow. Hot air arose from their mouths as they exhaled and chased each other. I spent 15 mins just watching them in awe, from a distance with a fence and hedge between us as to make myself safe as the Stags can be unpredictable in the rutting period.

 

 

link Here is a link to the set of photos and two videos  I have put upon Flickr of the rut.

 

On my way back through the Copse as I was hunting Fungus, as I like to photograph that to. I have given up looking on the floor for it now as more of it seems to be high up on dead silver birch trees, and different species to. I heard a strange noise, I presumed it was a bird so looked towards the sound and it was a squirrel. I was amazed as I had never heard a squirrel make a noise before. I preusume he was looking for a mate.

 

Today as been great and as made up for the few weeks that nothing as happened to blog about.

 

DSCN6205.JPG

 

 link on rutting deer.

 

 

Published on nature

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post