25th June 2011 Geese, Ducks and more Geese...London part 1

Published on by jodysnaturewalks

I had to go to London yesterday to take my son to an event he wished to attend, it wasn't to my liking so I left him to it. I wondered what I could do for several hours on my own. I did some research and discovered that Regents Park had its own wildfowl lake, that was it, camera ready and away.

 

I walked from Kings Cross and popped into Londons Wildlife Trust, Camley Streets site. It was a little countryside retreat in the big city. You could hear the train announcments from there, but otherwise you could of been anywhere. I didn't really see anything I hadn't seen before, but it was ideal for inner city kids to get the feel of the country and nature. From there I headed for The Regents Park armed with my A to Z,  I took the easier route though and followed the canal via Camden and got off at Primrose Hill. The view of the city, St. Pauls and the  London eye could be seen amongst other recognised buildings from there.

 

I headed to the lake through the park, which was vast and lovely. The wild fowl area was really quite busy, and the lake was really big to accomodate the different species. I took over 300 photos to achieve some decent ones to share with you. There are ducks I haven't even identified yet.

 



barheaded-goose.jpg

                                                           Barheaded Goose

 

 

 

egygption-goose.jpg                                                    Egyptian Goose

 

london-june-25th-11-232.jpg                                                       Barnicle Gooselondon-june-25th-11-256.jpg                                                       Rosybill Pochard

 

london-june-25th-11-126.jpg                                                       Tufted Duck

 

This blog is to be continued.........

Published on nature

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post