24th Aug '11 My birthday with Katie Humble

Published on by jodysnaturewalks

Hello. On Wednesday I turned 40 and am no now officially old according to my 14 yr old. What could I do to celebrate this unfortunate day.

Slimbridge, I had heard so much about this place and thought that would be an ideal choice.link

The collection of wildfowl was amazing and it was nice to see birds I hadn't seen or even heard of before, and to top it off Katie Humble and Martin McGill were signing their book, they had written together  "Watching Waterbirds".

 

 

aug-24th-birthday-girl-003.jpg

I think there was every duck, goose and breed of swan imaginable all in the same space. The Hawiian Goose was my favourite along with the Red-breasted Goose. The Avocet was delicate looking and so beautifully graceful.

 

035.jpg

 

                                                          Avochet

 

aug-24th-birthday-girl-080.jpg

 

 Also there are Otters there, which you can see being feed, there were three females we saw, gorgeous.

 

 

If you do get a chance to visit , please do.

Published on nature

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post