10th July'11 0ver the Marsh...

Published on by jodysnaturewalks

I spent at least four hours over the Marshes today, watching the Warblers in the reeds. I briefly saw the Buzzard; he didn't hang around for long.

I went over there on a mission. A Little Egret was spotted over there yesterday by Steve Hill who informed my mentor Chaz Mason, who then posted it on his blog                    Clayhanger Marsh Log.

I didn't get chance to go back over yesterday evening and get a look, so I waited and hoped I would get my chance today. I was rewarded for my patience. I saw the Egret fly past me, it was amazing but when I use the bins I forget to use my camera.  I was in awe as I had never seen one before. I tried to follow its flight, but I lost it. I spent the next half hour trying to track it down.

I walked up to the old line and checked the other pool, no sign apart from the Grey Heron. I heard the White throat calling and tracked him down in a bush.

 

10th-july-037whitethroat.jpg

                                                                                           White throat

 

10th-july-026.jpg

                                                                                     Grey Heron with fish

 

                                                                                 10th-july-021.jpg

10th-july-040.jpg

                                                                                   Great Black-backed Gull

Published on nature

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post